Islanders Celebrate 2016-17 at Student-Athlete Banquet


CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi student-athletes joined together in the Anchor Ballroom of the University Center Sunday evening to celebrate another successful academic and athletic year. The 14th annual Islanders Student-Athlete Banquet recognized the accomplishments of individuals from each team both in and out of competition.

All 16 Islanders teams had the chance to acknowledge outstanding performances from their individual student-athletes in a variety of ways. The awards are presented to those who represent the best the Island has to offer – whether that comes in the form of spirit, drive, leadership or stellar performance in academics and athletics.

The Lee Denmon III “Islander Way” Award, presented annually in remembrance of former men’s basketball player Lee Denmon III for the manner he embodied the “Islander Way”, went to softball’s Liz Carter for her service to her team and the community. Carter volunteered countless hours through both the Student-Athlete Advisory Council and Student Government Association, while also encouraging full participation in service events from her teammates.

The Male and Female Scholar-Athlete Awards, recognizing the top performers both academically and athletically went to baseball’s Cullen Jozwiak and Mackinzee Griebel of the softball team. Griebel took home the award for the second straight year.

Men’s basketball standout Rashawn Thomas took home the Male Athlete of the Year Award for a second consecutive season after a record setting year on the court. Volleyball’s Brittany Gilpin took home the Female Athlete of the Year title after leading the Islanders to a second straight Southland Conference title.

The seventh annual Islanders Cup, recognizing the team earning the most points throughout the 2016-17 year in the categories of Islander Pride, community service, personal development, academics and athletics, went to women’s soccer.


Most Valuable Player – Yvette Franco
Most Improved Player – Andi Bethard

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Brittany Gilpin
Outstanding Leadership – Morgan Carlson

Men’s Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner – Cesar Gonzalez
Most Improved Runner – Jan Anstett

Women’s Cross Country
Most Improved Runner – Rebekah Hardee
Most Valuable Runner – Liz Romo

Cheer Team
Team Service Award – Alsya Nguyen
Best All Around Cheerleader – Kara Shelton & Tyler Herber

Dance Team
Team Service Award – Bethany Doan
Dance All-Around – Allie McCaughey & Carly Doyle

Women’s Basketball
Islanders Award – Camesha Davis
Most Valuable Player – Kassie Jones

Men’s Basketball
Islander Award – Cole Martinez
Most Valuable Player – Rashawn Thomas

Athletic Training
Newcomer of the Year – Rae Ashley Ramirez
Student of the Year – Shelby Rodriguez

Women’s Track & Field
Indoor Most Improved – Chloe Young
Indoor Most Valuable – Sashane Hanson
Outdoor Most Improved – Hannah McWilliams (2016)
Outdoor Most Valuable – Sashane Hanson (2016)

Men’s Track & Field
Indoor Most Improved – Marek Spriestersbach
Indoor Most Valuable – Angelo Garland
Outdoor Most Improved – Will Maraggia
Outdoor Most Valuable – Philipp Baar

Team Leadership Award – Olivia Lowe
Most Valuable Player – Dani Bergmann

Heart of the Team Award – Mackinzee Griebel
Outstanding Leadership – Liz Carter

Hitter of the Year – Dalton Stark
Pitcher of the Year – Chris Cooper

Women’s Tennis
Heart of the Team – Hortense Boscher
Most Valuable Player – Jelena Dzinic

Men’s Tennis
Heart of the Team – Paul Cook
Most Valuable Player – Kevin Bettendroffer

Beach Volleyball
Most Improved Player – Chloe Thorpe
Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Madison Green

Strength and Conditioning
Male Athlete – Dawson Yates
Female Athlete – Madison Woods


Comments are closed.