Swimming and Diving: Nevada lands 10 individuals on All-Conference team


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Nevada swimming and diving team saw 10 individuals earn a spot on the All-Conference team, the Mountain West announced on Monday. The Pack also received recognition from its relay teams as two relay squads were acknowledged by the conference as well.

Nevada had three of its members named to the All-Conference team for three events. Senior Teresa Baerens, who has now been named to the All-MW team for the fourth time, was recognized for her performance in the 200-yard IM, and the 100 and 200-yard freestyle. She placed in the top five of each event at the conference championships, winning the 200-yard IM.

Junior Sharae Zheng and sophomore Zoe Lei each received honors for their routines in all three diving competitions. After the championships, Zheng was named the 2017 Diver of the Meet. She swept all the diving events, becoming just the third diver in conference history to accomplish such a feat. Since joining the conference five years, Nevada has won 14 of 15 diving events at the conference championships.

The Pack’s three other seniors were named to the All-MW team as well. Arantxa Medina-Alegria earned herself a spot on the 100-yard breaststroke team, while Riley Hilbrandt (200-yard breaststroke) and Sita Kusserow (200-yard butterfly) received honors too.

Sophomore Toma Shmitova earned her second All-MW honor for her performances on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard. She finished in the top eight in both events, competing in the A finals for both events too. Joining Baerens on the 200-yard IM and 200-yard freestyle honors list was freshman Andressa Cholodovskis Lima, who competed in the A finals and placed in the top eight of both those events.

Sophomores Rebecca Murray (100 and 200-yard freestyle) and Caitlyn Richardson (200-IM) rounded out the group of swimmers and divers who represented Nevada on the 2017 All-MW team. The Pack’s next event will take place March 6-8, where the diving team will travel to Flagstaff, Ariz. and compete in the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships.


Comments are closed.